Experienced Kansas City DWI Defense Lawyer
Charges such as driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol or driving while suspended (DWS) can cause you to lose your license for an extended period of time; they can also cause you to spend time in jail and affect your livelihood. Some cases require an aggressive approach to defend you from such charges. Other cases require an attorney to “minimize the damage” to you and your driving record.
I am prepared to help you in a cost-effective manner, including helping you fight an administrative license suspension.
I am Kansas City traffic law defense lawyer Christopher T. Patterson and I have represented drivers charged with DWI and related serious traffic offenses in the Northland communities and the Kansas City Metro Area since 1980. I offer high-quality, sensible solutions for a reasonable price. If you are facing an alcohol or drug-related driving offense, don’t wait to see what will happen next. Get the aggressive legal defense you need as soon as possible.
Usually within 20 or 30 minutes after someone is pulled over under the suspicion of driving under the influence, he is given a Breathalyzer. This is a tool that estimates the blood alcohol concentration in the blood. This is measured as an amount of ethanol, or alcohol, in the blood per volume of blood. The legal limit in Missouri is .08 percent.
Not everyone will “blow” the same BAC level after the same number of drinks. The number will depend upon your body size, gender and any number of factors. It may even change as your body changes with age. Finally, and perhaps most important, it can change based upon when you took your last drink before the stop. It is possible that your blood level at the time of the stop was under .08 percent but rising to the time you tested .08 or over. If we can prove this and show you were under the limit at the exact time of the stop, we can win against a BAC charge and keep you from an administrative suspension. However, you have to take action quickly to protect your right to challenge the BAC.
Driving Under The Influence
Any BAC over .08 percent constitutes a DUI or driving under the influence. Even if you do not have a BAC of .08 percent, police have the right to charge you with a DUI or DWI offense if they feel your driving is impaired. This is a serious charge that carries a wide variety of consequences. In fact, anyone with a history of these offenses may permanently lose their driving privileges. This can have serious impacts on a person’s lifestyle if they cannot drive to work, drive their kids to school, or travel to visit friends and family. Therefore, people need an experienced attorney to mount an expert defense or plea agreement on their behalf.
Driving While Impaired: I Will Always Fight For The Best Possible Outcome
Successfully fighting a DWI charge requires understanding the strategies and options available under the legal system. Prosecutors in different counties take different approaches. I have worked for more than 40 years in courts throughout in Clay County and Platte County in the Northland region, as well as Jackson County in both Kansas City and Independence, Missouri.
I understand the court process and which strategies are likely to be most effective when dealing with specific prosecutors and judges. When it comes to mounting a legal defense against a DUI or DWI charge, this requires an expert legal counsel. By discussing the circumstances of the charge, targeting the equipment involved, and looking into past history, I can often get the charges reduced to a lesser offense or create a plea agreement that can restore driving privileges. And if you do hire me, I will charge you a reasonable, competitive and cost-effective fee.
Call A Lawyer Who Cares About Your Drunk Driving Defense
I can be reached by phone at 816-471-7722 or by email to arrange a free phone consultation to discuss your case.